Waikato Valley Cricket Association was formed as a result of an amalgamation between the areas formerly known as Thames Valley Cricket and Midlands Cricket in 2003. From a changeable beginning Waikato Valley is now a progressive, flexible association which has its cricketers at heart. Geographically it covers the greater Waikato region including the towns of Cambridge, Morrinsville and Matamata centrally and extends as far north as the Coromandel, Te Kauwhata, Thames and Waihi and as far South as Te Awamutu, Otorohanga, Te Kuiti, Taumaranui and Mangakino.


WVCA competes and is affiliated to the Northern Districts Cricket Association, one of the six first class Major

Associations in New Zealand. Our Premier Men’s representative side is known as the Waikato Valley Rep Side. Waikato Valley also has a Waikato Valley B Men’s rep team and a Waikato Valley Women’s rep team.


Waikato Valley have junior representative teams for both boys and girls. Waikato Valley has a Primary Girls and Secondary Girls team. Whilst the boys have three teams; Primary Boys, Junior Secondary Boys and Senior Secondary Boys.


Waikato Valley Cricket Association is one of the largest Minor Associations (geographically) in New Zealand. Waikato Valley covers 9 district council areas as highlighted on the maps and includes the the following towns and areas. 

Coromandel - Whitianga - Whangamata - Waihi - Thames - Te Kauwhata 
Ngatea - Paeroa - Te Aroha - Morrinsville - Matamata - Cambridge 
Putaruru - Tokoroa - Te Awamutu - Pirongia - Otorohanga 
Te Kuiti - Piopio - Taumaranui - Mangakino